Skip to main content
Poole Business
Summer 2018 Awards and Honors
NC State campus gateway

Awards and Honors

NC State University and Poole College of Management recently recognized extraordinary faculty and staff with the college’s 2018 teaching, research and staff excellence awards –– as well as university awards.

A full list of nominees is below. Award recipients are noted by an asterisk (*).

NC State University Awards | Nominees and Recipients

Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Bonnie Hancock, Accounting*
  • Stefanie Robinson, Business Management
  • Umut Dur, Economics
  • Jeffrey Pollack, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship*

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching Award

College Nominee

  • Mark Beasley, Accounting | Enterprise Risk Management Initiative

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

  • Scott Showalter, Accounting*

Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professorship Award

  • Walter Thurman, Economics

Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award/NC State Research Leadership Academy Award

  • Robert Clark, Economics and Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

University Faculty Scholars

  • Jeff Pollack, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship*

Outstanding Extension Service Award

  • Bonnie Hancock, Accounting | Enterprise Risk Management Initiative*
  • Michelle Grainger, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship | Center for Innovation Management Studies*

Barbara Soloman Advising Award

  • Julie Lawson, Undergraduate Programs*

NC State Equity for Women Award

  • Jessica Thomas, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship | Business Sustainability Collaborative

Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence

  • Barry Goodwin, Economics

Poole College Awards | Nominees and Recipients

Teaching Excellence Award

  • Andrew Schmidt, Accounting
  • Patrice Nealon, Business Management*
  • Andy Nowel, Economics
  • Beth Ritter, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Research Growth and Innovation Award

  • Marianne Bradford, Accounting
  • Mike Stanko, Business Management*
  • Melinda Morrill, Economics
  • Beverly Tyler, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Staff Excellence Awards

  • Stephanie Jares, Undergraduate Programs*
  • E.C. Mabe, Computing Services
  • Tina Riley, Dean’s Office
  • Ellen Frost, Undergraduate Programs
  • Jennifer McLamb, Undergraduate Programs
  • Troy Pinkins, Business Management | Supply Chain Resource Cooperative*

Research Leadership Award

  • Christina Lewellen, Accounting
  • Rob Handfield, Business Management*
  • Giuseppe Fiori, Economics
  • Jon Carr, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

2018-19 Summer Research Award

  • Umut Dur, Economics
  • Jesse Ellis, Business Management
  • Eda Kemahlioglu-Ziya, Business Management
  • Jeff Pollack, Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Bill Rand, Business Management
  • Mike Stanko, Business Management
  • Eileen Taylor, Accounting

Hunt library across from lake Raleigh

Selected External Honors

Christina Lewellen, assistant professor of accounting

  • American Accounting Association (AAA) | 2017 American Taxation Association/PricewaterhouseCoopers (ATA/PwC) Outstanding Dissertation Award
  • American Accounting Association (AAA) | 2017 Outstanding International Accounting Dissertation Award

Eileen Z. Taylor, associate professor of accounting and Paul F. Williams, professor of accounting

  • Best Theoretical Research Award, 22nd Annual Ethics Research Symposium, August 6, 2017, San Diego, CA


Stephen Margolis, professor of economics

  • 36 years of service, retired on 12/31/2017

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.